Tenderloin recognized at 11th Annual NEN Awards


On February 6, the 2019 NEN Awards took place at City Hall. This event has become the City’s official celebration of neighborhood heroes. The NEN Awards are San Francisco’s way of honoring and celebrating the work of the residents and organizations who make our city an amazing place to live. Here is a list of honorees, including the Tenderloin as “Comeback Neighborhood.” Find the photos via the NEN Awards website.

Accepting the award from SF OEWD Director Joaquin Torres, both District 6 Supervisor and resident leader Curtis Bradford, remarked on the neighborhood’s diversity, compassion, and resilience. They also reminded attendees that the neighborhood is and always has been the heart of the city.

Some of the local leaders, merchants, and organizations mentioned by the NEN included Simon Bertrang (Tenderloin Community Benefit District), Pratibha Tekkey (Tenderloin Housing Clinic), Curtis Bradford (Tenderloin (People's Congress), Lorenzo Listana (Tenderloin Neighborhood Development Corporation), Kim Jackson (Unite Here! Local 2 and Golden Gate Safety Group), Abdul Alrammah (Yemen Kitchen), Rita Shimmin (Glide), Katie Conry (Tenderloin Museum), Margarita Mena (La Voz Latina).

The 11th Annual NEN Awards Winners Are: 

Comeback Neighborhood: Tenderloin

Outstanding Neighborhood Watch Group: Maxine Kraemer

Most Empowering City Employee: Capt. Jack Hart, SFPD

Youth Neighborhood Leadership: Jiayi Wang

Most Inspiring Public Works Volunteer: Geoff Potter & Phoebe Douglass

Best Community Challenge Grant Project: Urban Sprouts, Sunnydale Garden & Resource Center

Best Merchant Association/Community Benefit District: Calle 24 Latino Cultural District

Outstanding Park Volunteer Group: Literacy for Environmental Justice

Extraordinary Neighborhood Block Party: Ten Together-Upper Noe Block Party

Exemplary NERT Leadership: Joan Van Rijn

Exemplary ALERT Leadership: David Flynn

Lifetime Achievement: Peter, Simon & Tony Tannous

Hall of Fame: Louis Joseph (Joe) Boss